Neem Oil application

Darclinc

Hi,

I'm a novice grower and I've started another thread about growing some outdoor autos, here.

After doing some reasearch I've decided to use this particular Bioneem as my pesticide of choice, but want to know a) is it a good all round choice for me b) how to apply it correctly.

Can you start to apply it from day one or is it advisable to wait until the plants are a bit older?

Also, how often do you apply it and in what quantities?

Any advice or alternative recommendations welcome!

Thanks,

D

Edited by Darclinc

Aweh @Darclinc

Neem is effective, many growers on this forum use it with success, although it can't be used during flower. 

We've been growing outdoors for a while and I'd suggest not relying on only one. Insecticides organic or not, are more effective on certain bugs than others.  Aphids and whitefly are probably the most common, but there are some next level buggers like spidermite and broad/russetmite that require stronger kung-fu. Be aware that repeated (3× apps as per interwebs) use of the same insecticide on the same pest may breed resistance and could create an even bigger problem. Mites are notorious for being tough and building resistantance.

My list for example.

1.Insecticides sprays

Neudosan

Diy Soap/Oil emulsion (with citronella) 

Diy Habanero/onion/garlic

Diy Tomato leaf alkaloid spray

2.Worm sprays

Margaret Roberts

3. Fungicide sprays

Biogrow coppersoap

Potassium Bicarbonate

50/50 milk/water

You'll have to adapt your approach depending on your area and weather conditions.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

without a doubt that is the best advice to give a new grower, don't overlook this!

biggest mistake people make as new gardeners is thinking there will be only one product to do it all. if that was the case we would all be raving about this one product and when we have it we're successful gardeners and it's easy like that. if the world was made of cadbury.