Outdoor growing during the cold winter days upcoming

Good day Guys,

Trust everyone is well stoned!

I am a newbie in the cultivation of weed , living in the south of Johannesburg.

any tips regarding growing outdoors through out the cold season are welcomed, Currently building my own greenhouse to cover the babies i have growing :

Critical Kush

Mazar i shariff

Gorrilla glue 

OG kush

Bubbleberry glue ( received them from buyseedsa.com)

Gorrila glue in flowering , the rest is still veging.

Any tips and tricks to make it through the cold weather welcomed!

• Like 3
  • Agree 1

Hoop house. Is probably the easiest to build. There are lots of plans and videos on the net. Green house plastic is cheap and eazily obtained. If you want a more permanent structure the clear polycarbonate roof sheets with plastic or net sides. You must also think how would this structude be cooled in summer. Mabe construct it so that the sides can be raised in summer for better ventilation. 

• Like 3
  • Agree 1

https://2fast4buds.com/news/top-10-autoflowering-strains-for-cold-climates

This might help with a bit of info. I have a buddy growing only autos, and it seems like the Ruderalis genes are a bit more cold hardy than a lot of the photoperiods around. They should also get a bit bigger in veg vs a photoperiod planted in winter. Hope this helps a little 🙂

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

Anything that helps keep the frost off will help a lot. Although there hasn't been that much frost in Joburg the last couple of winters. Make sure they're getting lank daylight. Might get some purps from the low temps. 
SkunkPharm is right about thinking about summer in your design. Poly/plastic green house materials can limit airflow and heat release in summer.

Hoop houses are soooo easy and quick to assemble.

• Agree 1

Well, if you want to grow outside... You need outdoor lights to control the light cycle easier.