Advice needed about my 1000W LED Full spectrum light

BeerBottle

Good day fellow growers.

I recently got a 1000W Full spectrum LED grow light for my first indoor grow. My Questions:

1) Does it really emit 1000W as stated (only paid R1600 for it)  or is the actual wattage much lower? If so, how do i find out what the actual wattage is?

2) How far should i place them from my plants?

Kind regards

I am a noob so cant answer question one as i have the same light i think, but question 2 I can give my advice.

When i first put up the light i had it about cm away from plant. This burned the leaves. It is now 60cm away and plants seem to be doing much better. There are alot of helpfull articles or posts on this Forum. and the ladies and gents are keen to help.

• Like 1

@MentalYeti Thank you for your response. I will go check out other related posts. It is weird that the manufacter stated the light should be 1.5 - 2m above plants. I have mine set at 100cm above plants, it is great to hear your plants are doing better. Thanks for the advice.
I guess it largely depends on your grow space and a few other things. I don't have a huge spot to grow in. And the light was kinda gifted to me. So we live and learn. Good luck with the grow.
Also if I could raise mine to 100 I would have also.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Extremely unlikely it's 1000w.
Best would be to hook up a multimeter to it and check the volts & amps and calculate the wattage that way.

If I had to guess I'd say it draws between 120-250W
I'd probably keep it around 30-60cm above the. Canopy depending on the power and the type of LED's used.

Sent from my Redmi Note 7 Pro using Tapatalk

• Thanks 1
  • Agree 1

@PsyCLown Man it sucks to hear i have been ripped off. This is the link i used when i bought it: https://m.takealot.com/#!product?id=PLID53771740