TOBY'S GROW CABINET BUILD

Toby

My Cabinet 1200X600X450mm

I thought Ill share my experience in building a grow cabinet and a veg box. The experience was very insightful and I have learned a lot during this process. “Semper Incedendo”

I firstly evaluated my needs and circumstances. I am a baker so I make cannabutter and oil on a regular basis and I do love the medicated effect of edibles. – Sometimes hits you like a mofo.

The wife and I are the only ones who consume so the quanity required is not much. I normally buy but was getting gatvol of the poor level of service and limited options.

I won’t be consuming till about October 2015 as the Mrs and I are trying for a little one at the moment. So I have decided to grow in that time. – A break is good. I have been consuming for years on end. Time to flush my system. IMHO.

Enough background, back to the topic at hand.

After doing much research using chip board or super wood would not be an ideal material to use for the moisture factor.

I found and old cabinet (solid wood) on Gumtree for R200, that would fit perfectly in my home studio.

KVHtTd.jpg0INDVZ.jpg1vg1F8.jpg

I striped it down and layered the inside with 6mm marine ply. I then inserted an inner frame of pine wood to prevent light leaks and provide more stability. It also adds as shelving. The top section will house all electrical components.

3Dngw8.jpgdOCc2b.jpg

I have attached some caster wheels for mobility and a lock for security.

sTbwJP.jpg

I have decided to add a fake floor that’s resting on the pine wood frame, it would assist in my ventilation and any light leaks.

v8ouVI.jpgDTU0VR.jpgY6V94E.jpg

I have added a passive intake system based on my extraction fan’s capacity. I used anti-fungal sealant to seal up the inside and of the cab.

WE3ryK.jpg

The intake is double the area of the exhaust. I used fine mesh and industrial air filters to prevent unwanted creatures entering my cab.

4H5Adc.jpg