How to make a carbon filter air scrubber?

CannabisKid

Hey everyone, so i have just finished building my grow box, and decided it would be a smart idea to add a carbon air scrubber. Problem is i'm a student and working on a very low budget, so buying a air scrubber for 2k from these sites, or from ebay just isn't an option for me sadly.

I came across this website, which explains how to DIY, but i have troubles finding the actual carbon wrapping that he uses in his instructions. I haven't been to shops like builders warehouse or anything yet. Does anyone know where i could perhaps find this stuff?

Any suggestions?

I'm using a 150mm extraction fan

http://www.rollitup.org/t/easy-to-build-diy-carbon-filter.7074/

Thank you all for any input.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You can get active carbon pellets at any petshop that sells tropical fish. Modify the design to sandwich the pellets between 2 pieces of mesh. About a 5cm thick layers should do it.

:-peace

Thank you very much mate! May the universe give off positive vibes to you!

Awe bud, do you know the rating of your fan? I tried something similar, but my fan isn't strong enough so it was getting warmer than I'd like. I'm using a 120mm, 87 cfm fan. Anyways, this is what I did. It might work for you.

Check my thread, http://www.420sa.co.za/index.php/topic,969.msg8708.html#msg8708 you'll see the box I made that houses the fan. At the other end of the ducting have a cardboard box that it dumps the humid smelly air into. In the lid of the box I have a small dish that I cut the bottom out of, replaced the base with pantyhose and put a layer of carbon in there. A stronger fan would obviously be better, but this works for me.