Custom Environmental Controller

koosjr

Interesting. I see this part of the forum is not very active. I thought that controls would be of considerable interest.

I am an industry expert in controls and I also design my own, but I also do like it when systems can me made to run on more natural means.

I would however like to investigate designing a monitoring and control system for the room I plan.

With a custom designed controller, one can often get great value for money if you have a nice big integrated controller with a single processor and the I/O's on the board are well thought out for the application. This means minimal circuitry is needed and you end up with a board that can be very repairable compared to commercial controllers.

An integrated board also makes data logging considerably easier - especially in terms of event recording.

I have already designed and implemented a large controller for a Micro-Greens cabinet. It can do pretty much everything. It has 4 circuits of lights with independent timers, 5 spray circuits with independent timers, it switch circulation fans and the aircon units in duty/standby fashion, it can also do humidification, control a dual axis solar tracker, 3 storage tanks with level control and it has generator control where one can automate the startup of cheap chinese generators.

It has a touch screen that gives you clear and precise feedback of every I/O under control.

That is probably not a bad platform to start from for a comprehensive cannabis controller.

Lets say you are a serious breeder and can dream wild, what would you have liked to have in such a system?

My first reaction:

1. Obviously temperature control, duty standby.

2. Humidity control in a case like this is also a must. Small addition if one want to go the full monty.

3. Backup water tank level control, with pressure pump control.

4. Automatic watering cycle with soil moisture sensor

5. Then I would like to have multiple temperature sensors.