Good Day Fellow Greenthumbs

Rico88

Greetings from Pretoria!.

Recently started my own indoor grow. Total noob at this but i've already learned so much. Any tips and advice would be appreciated... few quick questions..

- I Know of the 3 or 4 main hydro stores. Question is... Do you know of any other suppliers where i can purchase a ballast for cheaper... I've noticed that shops like Voltex sell HID bulbs for allot cheaper than the grow shops. Unfortunately they don't sell ballasts! :(

- Can a 250w HPS bulb run off a 400w magnetic ballast?

Thanks in advance.

Greetings, First off welcome to the Forum. Well done on starting your own grow and we are all still learning and where once noobs too. All you need to do is ask and people in here are super helpful.

The cheapest i would say woult be GT hydro i guess for the quality of ballast you get. or build your own but get an electrician to put it together. I know here in Cpt there is a store you tell them you want a 400mh or hps or both set up and they build it for you. it really is just 3 components.

NO DONT EVER RUN YOUR 250 OFF THE 400 YOU WILL BLOW THE BULB Its not like your normal home socket where you can plug any wattage in and it will work. A ballast is built to push out 250 or 400 or 600. then only time you can run a 250w off a 400 or 600 ballast is if it is a adjustable digital ballast

I can help you build your own ballast on here, if you can get all the parts I can send you a diagram or how my ballast is wired up, You will need Ignitor, Capacitor and Ballast. I will actually do a thread on how to build your own ballast and post it tonight So anyone who is wanting to do it can..... simple hey ;D

Hi bud

Just my 2 cents on this....