Sign in to follow this  
Trailblazer420

Hermies

Hey everyone, I have a strain that I've been working on for about 5 years now, but hermies almost every time. Anyone know if this can be stabilized via additional crossing or do I need to start over?

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

Hey everyone, I have a strain that I've been working on for about 5 years now, but hermies almost every time. Anyone know if this can be stabilized via additional crossing or do I need to start over?

Have a chat to Totemic, he makes his own beans and is highly clued up on these things. Not sure how to tag him from Tapatalk

Sent from my ALE-L02 using Tapatalk

Im afraid the hermie genes are dominant and the chances of you ever getting it to recess is almost impossible with clandestine breeding.

Cant really say much more except yeah start over with known genetics and you'll stand a better chance of not encountering hermies.

:-peace

• Like 1

3 outdoor plants, 9 indoor plants, all indoor plants seems to be seeding, outdoor, not a single seed. Could it be that this strain simply should not be grown indoors? Could there be hope for my strain yet :)

It could also be that not all seeds are hermies, but because I've only grown indoors, one will infect all. The leftover clones I took and grew outdoors, no issues. Same mother plants clones in the tent hermied.

The best way I can explain the hermie phenomonon in cannabis.

All cannabis plants can "hermie" as they fall into the category of dioecious plants. This simply means that male and female flowers are usually on two different plants. What's interesting to note with almost all plants in this category is their ability to also produce the opposing flowers to ensure the survival of the species. At the very core of it, that is what all living organisms are hardwired for. 

So this really is less of a trait and more genetic hardwiring, a common foundation for the species.